Maryland SR22 Insurance
Maryland SR22 Insurance
SR22 Insurance in Maryland
There are minimum requirements for car insurance in the state of Maryland. According to The Maryland Insurance Commissioner, it is mandatory to have at least a minimum liability coverage, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist insurance for every registered driver who is operating a vehicle in the state.
- $30,000 per single bodily injury or death
- $60,000 per multiple bodily injury or deaths
- $15,000 for property damage
Your SR-22 certificate will remain valid for as long as the associated insurance policy stays active. SR-22 lapses immediately if you cancel your insurance policy, whether that’s due to missing one or more payments, forgetting to renew, or being denied renewal by the insurance company.
If your auto insurance coverage ends, the insurance company is required by law to inform your DMV that you are driving uninsured and have not followed the requirements of your SR-22. Your license will likely be suspended, and you will face court fees, penalty fees, and reinstatement fees.
It’s best to renew your insurance policy at least 15 days before your policy expires so that if your insurance company denies you renewal, you’ll have time to shop around for a new policy.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
What is an FR-19 and what are the ways to file it?
The FR-19 is a form that motorists in certain states, Delaware and Maryland specifically, can be required to file with their department of motor vehicles.
The FR-19 can only be issued by a car insurance company and certifies that you carry at least the state’s minimum liability auto insurance coverage on your registered vehicle.
The FR-19 is not the same as an SR-22 form. The SR-22 is required in many states to verify that you have certain car insurance coverages in place and that the insurance company will alert the state if you cancel that coverage. The FR-19 only verifies that you currently have insurance.
An SR-22 is typically required due to some serious offense, such as driving without insurance or driving under the influence (DUI), and must remain in effect with the state for three or more years. There is no such requirement with the FR-19 since it just verifies coverage is in place.
If you’ve been asked to supply the Maryland MVA with an FR-19 form, contact your car insurance agent. Maryland insurance companies must provide the FR-19 forms free of charge to all policyholders upon request. The form itself should be faxed or submitted electronically to the MVA by your insurance company or agent.
If you’re unable to provide an FR-19 form when requested, due to a lapse in coverage, you will face penalties. Maryland charges an uninsured motorist penalty fee for each lapse of insurance of $150 for the first 30 days, then $7 for each day thereafter.
Maryland SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020 We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.
Comments are closed.