Montana SR22 Insurance
Montana SR22 Insurance
SR22 Insurance in Montana
If you are a resident of Montana and was involved in conditions that require you to get an SR22 Insurance then you have come to the right place. Our team of experts will provide a number of quotes from various insurance companies for free thus saving you time and money. All you have to do is fill out our form above.
The first thing you should know about Montana (with regards to car insurance) is that it is one of the states considered to be a traditional at-fault car accident state.
In at-fault car accident states like Montana, if you cause an accident, you are responsible for covering any incurred costs from that accident. The at-fault driver is also responsible for filing a claim with his or her insurance company and hopefully, the insurance company will tell the driver that the insurance policy is large enough to absorb all of the costs.
If the at-fault driver does not have enough insurance, he or she will have to cover these costs with personal assets. In short, the scenario above explains why it is a good idea to carry more insurance than what is required.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in Montana
In Montana, you can be penalized for not obtaining the proper liability coverage required or for not having proof of said coverage when requested. If you do not have insurance and are caught by law enforcement driving while uninsured, the following ramifications are possible:
- For your first offense: Driving in Montana without car insurance is considered to be a misdemeanor. If you receive a no-insurance citation from law enforcement, your fine will be between $250 and $500, or potentially up to 10 days in jail.
- For repeat offenders: A second offense of driving without insurance can mean a fine of a minimum of $350 fine or 10 days in jail. Your driver’s license will also be revoked for 90 days and your driving record will receive five points for not filing the proper SR22 form. Under the points system, if you get up to a total of 30 points, your driver’s license will be completely revoked.
- For a third offense: If you receive three or more no-insurance citations, you can receive a fine of $500 or go to jail for up to six months, or face both a maximum fine and jail time.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Montana Code Annotated section 61-6-103 requires that any motor vehicle operated on public roads be insured by a liability insurance policy that meets the following minimum coverage limits:
- $25,000 liability coverage for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
- $50,000 liability coverage for total bodily injury or death liability in an accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
- $20,000 liability coverage for property damage per accident caused by the owner/driver of the insured vehicle.
Liability coverage pays the medical bills, property damage bills, and other costs of drivers, passengers, and pedestrians who are injured or have their vehicle damaged in a car accident you cause, up to coverage limits.
Montana SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020 We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.
Comments are closed.