Rhode Island SR22 Insurance
SR22 Insurance in Rhode Island
Drivers in Rhode Island who had the unfortunate experience of being caught and convicted of a DUI, driving without license, driving without insurance and other related offenses are subject to compliance with SR22 Insurance. An SR22 is a certificate that proves to the Rhode Department of Motor Vehicle that the driver carries with him or her minimum insurance coverage as required by law. This insurance add-on is filed by an insurance company on the client’s behalf.
For DUI cases, an SR22 Insurance is required the moment you have your driving privileges restored. This certificate is typically required to be kept and renewed for a minimum of three years. The Rhode Island DMV will not reinstate your driver’s license without the right car insurance on file. So choosing the right insurance company is critical in maintaining your driving privileges.
Filing for an SR22 Insurance in Rhode Island is relatively easy. All you have to do is contact your insurance provider and ask if they offer this option. If not, you can look for another provider who does. The insurance company will then electronically mail your form to the Rhode Island DMV. When they already have it, they can send it to you via email or in person thus allowing you to drive again.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Insurance providers typically charge $20 to $50 for filing an SR-22 on your behalf. But it’s not the filing fee that’s most expensive when you’re required to file an SR-22 — you’ll also typically see higher premiums than you’re used to.
A gap in your insurance will be reported to the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and your license may be suspended again. You must get your license reinstated before the time on your SR-22 filing period started.
For example, if you’re two years into your filing period and your license gets suspended from a lapse in coverage, the remaining one year can’t be finished out until your license is reinstated.
Rhode Island SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020 We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.