Non-Owner Insurance in California: All Questions Answered
What is Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance Exactly?
If your driver’s license is suspended, the majority of states require by law that you obtain an auto insurance policy with an SR22 certification before you can have your license reinstated. Typically this mandate applies whether or not you own a car.
For those that don’t own a car, non-owner SR-22 insurance is a policy that provides the state-required liability insurance but is tied to you as the driver, no matter which vehicle you use.
One of the benefits of non-owner SR-22 insurance is that quotes are typically cheaper than for an owner’s policy, since you’ll only receive liability coverage and the insurer assumes you drive less frequently. Since your insurance rates will already be higher after the moving or traffic violation that caused you to need the California SR-22, non-owner insurance is a simple way to reduce your costs but maintain your license if you don’t regularly drive.
How Much Does a Non-owner Insurance Policy cost?
The costs of a non-owner auto insurance policy with an SR22 vary and are based on a number of factors, including your driving history and location. The major costs associated with non-owner SR22 insurance are the premiums. However, the insurance carrier often charges a small fee for filing the SR22 forms (typically ranging from $15-25). Non-owner auto insurance costs vary by state, but because those with a history of traffic and/or DUI violations are considered high-risk, carrying the SR22 will generally cost more than a regular non-owner auto insurance policy.
Is a Non-owner Policy Cheaper than a Conventional SR22 Policy?
Non-owner auto insurance policies are generally less expensive than standard auto policies, even with the SR22 certification, primarily because you don’t have a car and won’t be expected to drive often.
How much insurance you need in California
At a minimum, California requires drivers to have liability insurance, which pays out if you cause a wreck and hurt someone else or damage their property, up to specified limits. California requires these limits:
- $15,000 bodily injury liability per person.
- $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident.
- $5,000 property damage liability per accident.
Information About California Ignition Interlock Devices
Ignition Interlock Devices, or more commonly known as an IID is a DUI breath test device similar to a breathalyzer used by police. The instrument is installed in the dashboard of your car. The testing device disables your vehicle from operating unless you provide a breath sample that is free of alcohol. In 2012, all 50 U.S. states adopted laws permitting the imposition of IIDs as a sentencing alternative for drunk driving cases. The use of IIDs is now increasing in popularity throughout the state of California as an efficient DUI penalty.
If a driver is ordered by a judge to install an IID as part of their DUI probation, the driver must have the ignition interlock device installed by a professional. They must also have a device installed in each car they drive. Work vehicles owned by their employer are exempt from this rule, as well as motorcycles.
Comments are closed.