Louisiana SR22 Insurance
Table of Contents
- 1 Louisiana SR22 Insurance
- 2 Louisiana SR22 Insurance
- 3 How much should you expect to pay for an SR-22 in Louisiana?
- 4 The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
- 5 Who needs an SR22 in Louisiana?
Louisiana SR22 Insurance
In Louisiana, high-risk driving offenses like DUI or reckless driving require a driver to obtain an SR-22 form. Your insurance carrier will submit the form to the state on your behalf. SR-22 insurance in Louisiana is not a separate policy but a document that will prove that your auto insurance policy has enough coverage to comply with the state minimum requirement.
- Louisiana Driving While Intoxicated Convictions
- How much should you expect to pay for an SR-22 in Louisiana?
- Louisiana minimum car insurance requirements
- Who needs an SR22 in Louisiana?
- Different Types of Louisiana SR-22 Insurance Forms
- What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
Louisiana Driving While Intoxicated Convictions
In Louisiana, it is against the law to Drive While Intoxicated (DWI). A conviction for a Louisiana DWI can result in the suspension of your driving privileges for a year or more on your first offense. In order to reinstate your driving privileges, you may be required to complete a driver education course, pay significant fines of $100.00 or more, file proof of future financial responsibility (SR-22) and maintain it for three (3) years from the date of conviction.
If you are under the age of 21 and caught driving under the influence, you may be charged with Underage Driving Under the Influence (UDUI). A DUI conviction may result in a license suspension of up to one (1) year.
How much should you expect to pay for an SR-22 in Louisiana?
Auto insurance with an SR-22 in Louisiana is often costly. This isn’t because obtaining the SR-22 certificate is expensive — typical filing fees are $15 to $35 — but a product of the insurance cost increases initiated by the driving violation that made the SR-22 necessary to begin with.
Auto insurance companies bill risky drivers more to account for the heightened risk of claims payouts. The rate increase you’ll receive may depend on the number and severity of your citations.
Louisiana minimum car insurance requirements
SR-22 insurance in Louisiana certifies that a driver has enough auto insurance coverage to comply with the state minimum liability coverage requirements. The state requires the following coverages:
- $15,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
- $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability coverage per accident
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Who needs an SR22 in Louisiana?
SR-22 insurance is used to monitor risky drivers in the state of Louisiana. SR-22s are required after you’ve committed certain violations with the law. You may even be required to have an SR-22 if you’ve had a series of small violations within a short span of time. You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:
- Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
- Driving without car insurance
- Driving with a revoked or suspended license
- Having repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets
- Numerous at-fault accidents
- A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries
- Reckless or dangerous driving
- Assignment from a court order
- Failure to pay fines from tickets
- Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test
Different Types of Louisiana SR-22 Insurance Forms
There are three types of Louisiana SR-22 auto insurance: Operator, Owner and Operator-Owner. Operator’s SR-22 insurance covers drivers who operate but do not own a vehicle. Owner’s SR-22 insurance covers drivers who own and operate a vehicle. Operator’s-Owner’s SR-22 insurance covers all vehicles owned or not owned by a driver.
What happens when I don’t need SR-22 coverage anymore?
Once you’re through the entirety of your filing period, you’ll want to confirm with the DMV that you’re clear before you change plans to avoid getting your license suspended. Your insurer will be the next agency to contact. You can discuss your current policy, what’s available to you and if needed you can then change to a different provider.
Are you ready to get your license reinstated? Contact SR-22 Insurance today for a free SR-22 quote. Our experienced agents will help you to get your driving privileges reinstated. No matter what the circumstances of your case, we can help.