Michigan SR22 INSURANCE
Michigan SR22 INSURANCE
Michigan SR22 Insurance
The SR-22 is the Michigan Certificate of Financial Responsibility. Issued by your insurance company and provided to the Michigan Secretary of State, this serves as proof of liability insurance. “SR22 insurance” is a term that refers to a specific filing that “high risk drivers” are required to carry. An SR22 is a simple document that shows proof of financial responsibility. It proves to the world that a high risk driver is fully insured.
- Reasons why you need to file an SR22 Insurance in Michigan
- SR22 insurance limits in Michigan
- 2 types of financial responsibility insurance options in Michigan
- Non Owners SR22 Insurance in Michigan
- How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Cost in Michigan?
Reasons why you need to file an SR22 Insurance in Michigan
There are several reasons why the state may require you to carry this type of insurance. Some of those reasons include:
At Fault Collision
If you are involved in an accident that is ruled to be your fault.
If you are convicted of speeding while driving over 20 miles over the posted speed limit.
If you are convicted of reckless driving, you may be required to carry SR-22 insurance for a specific period of time, along with fines and court costs.
Similar to speeding, racing in unauthorized areas may result in a judge ordering you to purchase an SR-22 policy as a high-risk driver.
Leaving the Scene
If you leave the scene of an accident, a judge may order you to carry SR-22 insurance as a high-risk driver for a period designated by the court.
Driving under the influence will result in mandatory SR-22 insurance along with other fines and punishments.
Excessive Points on Driving Record
If you receive enough traffic violations and accumulate a certain amount of points on your driving record, the court may order you to purchase SR-22 insurance as a high-risk driver.
SR22 insurance limits in Michigan
Under the Michigan Financial Responsibility Law, you are required to have liability insurance coverage for these minimums: 20,000/40,000/10,000. That is to say that your insurance policy must insure you against loss in an accident where you are at fault for a minimum of:
- $20,000 for bodily injury to or death to one person in any one accident
- $40,000 for bodily injury to or death to two or more persons in any one accident (with a $25,000 limit per person)
- $10,000 for injury to or destruction of others’ property in an accident
2 types of financial responsibility insurance options in Michigan
Under Michigan law, there are two forms of financial responsibility insurance: Owner’s and Operator’s. If you are required to obtain financial responsibility insurance, you can purchase one or both depending on if you want to insure any vehicle registered in your name (Owner’s) or only you (Operator’s). You can also obtain a policy that covers both.
Auto Owner or Motorcycle insurance policy
which is a standard auto / motorcycle insurance policy that covers a driver on their owned personal vehicle
Non-owner or Operator policy
is an auto insurance policy which covers a driver for vehicles that they don’t own. A driver who does not have a vehicle registered to their name may purchase a non-owner policy. Non-owner policies cost far less and carry significantly lower premiums, while still meeting compliance for all SR22 requirements.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Non Owners SR22 Insurance in Michigan
You can get license reinstatement if you don’t own a vehicle with non owner SR22 insurance Michigan. It guarantees the state that you will maintain minimum liability insurance coverage during your license suspension period. It insures you when they drive a borrowed vehicle on a limited basis.
How it works:
When you purchase non owner SR22 insurance Michigan, your insurance provider files the certificate with the Michigan Department of Motor Vehicles. This allows you to reinstate your license when other applicable fines or fees have been paid. The policy is monitored closely to guarantee that you keep the policy in force.
If it lapses or is canceled during the probationary period, your insurance provider submits an SR26 filing to notify the DMV that you’re no longer insured. This results in license suspension.
The state of Michigan usually requires you to carry non owner SR22 insurance Michigan for three years. It’s a good idea to check with the DMV to confirm how long you will be required to maintain the filing.
How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Cost in Michigan?
It doesn’t cost much to file the SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility; usually, the filing fee is around $25. Enter your zip code below to get your FREE Michigan SR22 Quote.
Comments are closed.