Mississippi SR22 Insurance
Mississippi SR22 Insurance
SR22 Insurance in Mississippi
If you are looking for the cheapest SR22 insurance quote in Mississippi, then look no further. We will help you get insurance quotes from various companies around. All you need to do is fill out our form above.
An SR-22 filing is required when drivers have their license suspended and need to provide proof of insurance to the state. If you have been convicted of the following, you will need to file an SR-22 to get your license reinstated:
- Driving on a suspended license or revoked license
- Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs
- DUI for drivers under age 21
- Hit and Run
One of the things to keep in mind is that SR22 insurance is a completely different policy than regular auto insurance. This means that if you are required to get an SR22 policy, then you also have to maintain your current auto insurance as well and unfortunately, it will cost a little bit more than your regular policy.
First time offenders in the state of Mississippi are required to maintain their SR22 Insurance for 3 years. Drivers who are uninsured will face stricter penalties when they are involved in any accidents. Not only will they have to pay for the damages they caused out of their own pocket, but the state will also suspend the driver’s license for an extended period of time. If convicted of DUI, the law requires at least a six month driver suspension, as well as possible fines and jail time.
The court will determine whether you need SR22 insurance, and for how long. It is necessary to maintain insurance coverage during the time frame that the court mandates. If coverage lapses during the determined time frame, the state will suspend the driver’s license. If you move out of state while carrying SR22 insurance, you must continue your coverage in the state the infraction occurred for the duration already determined by the court.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Mississippi SR22 Insurance Requirements
The state of Mississippi requires all drivers to carry liability insurance with limits 25/50/25, which stands for $25,000 for bodily injury to 1 person, $50,000 for bodily injury to 2 or more people, $25,000 for property damage. These same limits are required for an SR-22 form and must be met prior to getting your license.
Types of SR22 Policies
- Owner policy – which is a standard auto insurance policy or motorcycle insurance policy that covers a driver on their own personal vehicle or motorcycle
- Non owner or Operator Only Policy – is an auto insurance policy which gives liability coverage to the named insured when he / she is driving someone else’s car. A driver who does not have a vehicle registered in their name may purchase a non-owner policy.
Non owner policies cost less while still meeting Mississippi SR-22 requirements.
- Motorcycle SR22 – A standard motorcycle insurance policy with an SR22 certificate of financial responsibility attached.
Mississippi SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020 We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.
Comments are closed.