New Mexico SR22 INSURANCE
New Mexico SR22 INSURANCE
NEW MEXICO SR22 INSURANCE
New Mexico is one of six states that do not require SR22 insurance following a license revocation or suspension for certain offenses. It is important to remember that if you move to a state that requires SR22 insurance, you may have to file it pursuant to its laws. An SR22 form provides a state with proof of future financial responsibility. The most common reason that a person would have to file an SR22 form is for a license suspension related to driving under the influence (DUI).
- Is SR-22 Insurance required in New Mexico?
- Insurance requirements in New Mexico
- Who needs an SR22 in New Mexico?
- Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in New Mexico
- Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in New Mexico
Is SR-22 Insurance Required in New Mexico?
The answer is No. SR22 is not a requirement in New Mexico. However, the State of New Mexico does have mandatory auto insurance minimums that must be met. Additionally, in the State of New Mexico, if you fail to provide proof of auto insurance coverage, you will first receive a Notice of Noncompliance. If you have coverage when you receive this notice, your New Mexico car insurance provider will need to provide proof of insurance to the New Mexico MVD. This proof of insurance is similar to a New Mexico SR-22 insurance form in that it proves that you have at least the state minimum amount of coverage for New Mexico auto insurance.
Insurance requirements in New Mexico
While the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) of New Mexico does not require an SR22 certificate of insurance to be filed, they do require all drivers to “to operate their motor vehicles with a minimum of liability auto insurance.” The mandatory minimum insurance liability coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 property damage
If you fail to maintain proof of the required liability insurance, you may receive a Notice of Noncompliance by the MVD, and they will suspend your vehicle registration. To reinstate your vehicle registration, you will have to provide proof of insurance and pay a reinstatement fee.
Who needs an SR22 in New Mexico?
Even though New Mexico does not require its drivers to have SR22 insurance after certain convictions, if you’re a driver in New Mexico and you’re moving to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you may need to have SR22 insurance in your new state. SR22 insurance is required in a few scenarios in order for you to get your license reinstated.
You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:
- Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
- Driving without car insurance
- Driving with a revoked or suspended license
- Having repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets
- Numerous at-fault accidents
- A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries
- Reckless or dangerous driving
- Assignment from a court order
- Failure to pay fines from tickets
- Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test
If you’re moving to a new state and need to get SR-22 insurance, you’ll need to get SR22 insurance from an insurance company that offers SR22 insurance in your new state. The form will need to be filed with your new state rather than with New Mexico.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Reinstating Driving Privileges With SR22 in New Mexico
SR-22 forms are also important for New Mexico drivers if they need to reinstate their driver’s licenses after an incident in a different state. Although the state of New Mexico does not require these forms if the accident, DUI or traffic violations occurred within their borders, many other states do.
If your license is revoked in one of these states, then you must file this SR-22 form in order to regain your driving privileges or else wait a certain period of time for those sanctions to be lifted without filing any special forms or paying their associated fees. However, in some states such as Texas, you may be asked to pay a reinstatement fee alongside submitting your required forms.
Penalties for Not Filing an SR22 Form in New Mexico
By not getting SR22 insurance when you need to as a New Mexico driver who is coming to or from a different state, you are opening yourself up to a number of potential problems.
Perhaps the biggest and most common penalty for this is getting your driver’s license suspended, as mentioned above, and thus preventing your ability to drive until it is reinstated. However, there can also be fines associated with not filing this form coming from other state DMVs if you have been convicted of certain violations in the past.
The best methods for staying legal on the road are to keep up with your insurance payments, to follow the instructions of your auto insurer and to not ignore or try to minimize past mistakes. Filing for SR-22 insurance can seem like a hassle but it is critical for many Americans to keep driving despite their poor driving history.
If you have had your license suspended or been labeled a high-risk driver by your state, you may be required to obtain SR22 insurance. It may seem confusing at first, but there is no need to panic. We are here to help and we have developed this resource to help you navigate the process and get you back on the road as quickly and affordably as possible. https://sr22insurance.net/
Comments are closed.