Oregon SR22 Insurance
SR22 Insurance in Oregon
An SR22 Insurance is also known as a certificate of financial responsibility and must be filed in the Oregon DMV in order to reinstate your license and be allowed to drive again. This insurance add on can be obtained from your insurance company which must be licensed in the state of Oregon. The minimum liability requirements are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident
- $20,000 property damage coverage
By Oregon law, each time a driver renews his registration, he must certify that he holds the minimum liability required by law.
In compliance with Oregon law, all drivers must have proof of minimum liability insurance every time he or she renews his driver registration.
In the state of Oregon, an SR22 certificate or insurance is required for various reasons. Some of these reasons are as follows:
- The driver was a party to a uninsured accident;
- The driver was convicted of driving his vehicle without insurance;
- The driver could not show proof to the DMV that he had liability insurance;
- The driver was reinstating his driver’s license after a DUI suspension; or
- The driver is applying for a probationary or hardship permit.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
In order to prove future responsibility, a driver must file an SR22 at the DMV and this certificate shall be posted together with his or her driving records. An insurance card will not be enough as proof as this will be used and required by law to be present in a vehicle operated with the Oregon freeways.
The DMV closely monitors compliance with SR22 requirements, and if the insurance lapses, the insurance company by law is required to notify the DMV of that fact and the driver’s license will be suspended.
If a driver purchases SR22 insurance following a suspension, he should be careful not to drive again until he first files the SR22 certificate with the DMV, and gets his driving privileges reinstated again. The filing is dated the day received by the DMV, during business hours, and only the original document will be accepted.
Oregon SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020 We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.