Rhode Island SR22 INSURANCE
Table of Contents
- 1 Rhode Island SR22 INSURANCE
- 2 RHODE ISLAND SR22 INSURANCE
- 3 How to get an SR-22 in Rhode Island
- 4 The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
- 5 Non Owner SR22 Insurance Rhode Island
RHODE ISLAND SR22 INSURANCE
- DMV Eliminates SR-22 in Rhode Island
- Rhode Island SR-22 requirements
- How to get an SR-22 in Rhode Island?
- SR-22 insurance limits in Rhode Island
- Who needs an SR22 in Rhode Island?
- What if I don’t have a car or a license?
- Non Owner SR22 Insurance Rhode Island
DMV Eliminates SR-22 in Rhode Island
Effective July 18, 2018, the Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles announced that the state will no longer require and accept SR-22 filing from insurers. If you have the SR-22 requirement, this means that you’re released from the legal obligation. The DMV will send a written confirmation to your last address on file with them.
As of July 2018, SR-22 insurance is no longer required in Rhode Island. Rhode Island is one of the few states that doesn’t require an SR-22 form. If you commit certain driving violations that suspend your license in Rhode Island, you may face penalties and need to pay a fee rather than file an SR-22 form.
One of the most common reasons drivers may need SR-22 insurance in other states is because of a DUI conviction. In Rhode Island, instead of getting SR-22 insurance, you’ll face other penalties and requirements if you’ve been convicted of an alcohol or drug-related offense. Rhode Island DUI penalties may include a license suspension as well as other requirements.
Another common reason drivers may need SR22 insurance in other states is for driving without an active car insurance policy. If you’re caught driving without car insurance in Rhode Island, you may face fines, fees and license and registration suspension.
How to get an SR-22 in Rhode Island
If you are from another state and moving to Rhode Island, you may still need to carry your SR22 Insurance if thereby required by your previous state. The same thing also applies to Rhode Island drivers who will transfer to another state that requires SR22 Insurance. Here’s how you can obtain this certificate:
- Contact your carrier or find an authorized insurer. Drivers typically find out they need an SR-22 form during an administrative court hearing. If the presiding judge orders you to get one of these, it’s your responsibility to contact your insurance company or find a new insurer.
- Pay the SR-22 filing fee. Your insurance company will likely charge you a fee for filing the SR-22. This typically ranges between $15 and $50.
- Your car insurer files the SR-22. Your insurer will need to file this document on your behalf with your state’s department of motor vehicles.
- Receive confirmation. Once your insurer has filed the SR-22, the DMV may take up to two weeks to process the request. The department may process electronic forms more quickly than ones sent through the mail.
It’s important to request the SR-22 from your insurer quickly because the court or state usually sets a deadline for filing the form. If you don’t meet the deadline, your license may be suspended.
SR-22 insurance limits in Rhode Island
Although SR-22 insurance is not required in Rhode Island, all drivers are required to have car insurance to legally drive in the state. Rhode Island drivers are required to have at least the following car insurance limits:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability (BIL) per person
- $50,000 for two or more people in one accident
- $25,000 property damage liability (PDL) coverage
While these limits are minimum, they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
Who needs an SR22 in Rhode Island?
Even though Rhode Island does not require its drivers to have SR22 insurance after certain convictions, if you’re a driver in Rhode Island and you’re moving to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you may need SR22 insurance in your new state. SR22 insurance is required in a few scenarios in order for you to get your license reinstated. Some of these are the following:
- You need insurance, but have been issued a DUI or DWI
- Been at-fault in an accident without auto insurance
- Been caught driving without a license (or with a suspended license)
- Been cited for reckless driving
- Repeated too many traffic violations over a short period of time
If you’re moving to a new state and need to get SR-22 insurance, you’ll need to get SR22 insurance from an insurance company that offers SR22 insurance in your new state.
What if I don’t have a car or a license?
Whether you own a car or not, you’re required to file an SR-22 to reinstate your license. Look into a non-owner insurance policy and file a non-owner SR-22.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Non Owner SR22 Insurance Rhode Island
Prior to July 18, 2018 you could purchase non owner SR22 insurance Rhode Island to reinstate your suspended license if you didn’t own a vehicle. After that date, Rhode Island eliminated the SR22 requirement. However, if you have an out-of-state license suspension you will be required to file an SR22 in that state to prevent your Rhode Island driver’s license being suspended.
If you have an out-of-state license suspension that requires non owner SR22 insurance, you must contact the state referenced in the license suspension notice sent to you by the Rhode Island DMV Adjudication Office. The Adjudication Office must receive proof of payment to that state, by the date referenced, to avoid suspension of your driver’s license.
The basics of out-of-state non owner SR22 insurance Rhode Island:
- Non owner insurance is liability-only, secondary insurance coverage
- It is written for one person only
- A non owner SR22 does not vehicles owned by others in your household
- Non owner SR22 does not cover you to drive commercial, rental or employment-related vehicles
- It does not cover vehicles that you would be able to drive frequently
Keep in mind that an SR-22 Certificate is temporary, and as long as you drive responsibly, obey traffic laws, and pay your premium on time, you won’t have to carry the certificate for long.
At SR-22 Insurance, we specialize in providing high-risk drivers for both vehicle owners and non-owners with the necessary SR-22 certificate as well as traditional auto insurance coverage. Filing for an SR-22 is easy, simply contact us and one of our friendly representatives will reach out to guide you through the process. https://sr22insurance.net/