Contact us

Send us an email!

Contact details:

Message:

Your message has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Travel insurance Quote

Level of protection: $

Contact details:

Travel

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Car insurance Quote

Contact details:

Your car:

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Life insurance Quote

Level of protection: $

Contact details:

Have you used tobacco or nicotine products in the last 12 months?

Yes, I have No, I have not
Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

House insurance Quote

Your house:

Contact details:

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.
New Jersey Residents
Can Save up to 50% on SR22 Insurance

Get Your Free Online Quote Today

Tennesee SR22 INSURANCE

Tennesee SR22 INSURANCE

Tennesee SR22 INSURANCE

In Tennessee, drivers who have been convicted of certain serious violations such as a DUI or driving without insurance may be required to get SR-22 insurance. You can secure SR-22 insurance by requesting it from your insurer or starting a policy with a new insurer. Your insurer will submit the SR-22 certificates to the Tennessee Department of Safety (DOS) and prove you have auto insurance that can cover another driver’s injuries or damages if you’re at fault in an accident.

  • Who needs an SR-22 in Tennessee?
  • How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Tennessee?
  • Will all Insurance Companies File an SR-22?
  • What if I Move to Another State?
  • What are Tennessee SR-22 rates?
  • Penalties of Not Obtaining SR-22 Insurance in Tennessee
  • Non Owner SR-22 Insurance In Tennessee

Who needs an SR-22 in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, SR-22s are required after you’ve committed certain violations with the law. You may even be required to have an SR-22 if you’ve had a series of small violations within a short span of time. You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:

Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
Driving without car insurance
Driving with a revoked or suspended license
Having repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets
Numerous at-fault accidents
A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries
Reckless or dangerous driving
Assignment from a court order
Failure to pay fines from tickets
Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test

If your license was suspended and you’re required to have SR22 insurance in Tennessee, you must file an SR-22 after your suspension period is over in order to drive.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Tennessee?

You can ask your insurer to file your request for a Tennessee SR-22 auto insurance form with the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance. You will have to pay a processing fee, which varies among agencies. Once your SR-22 car insurance form is accepted, your insurer will send you the SR-22 insurance along with a letter from the Department of Commerce and Insurance. You must maintain SR-22 auto insurance filing for three years and renew it 45 days before the expiration date. Your insurer will notify the State if your TN SR-22 car insurance form is not renewed at least 15 days before the expiration date, and the State may suspend your driving record until it is reinstated.

Will all insurance companies file an SR-22?

No, your current car insurance company may or may not file an SR-22. If it does not, you will need to find another insurance carrier that does. Additionally, if you do not have car insurance, you need to purchase insurance from a company that will file an SR22 form for you. Even if you do not own a vehicle, you can purchase a non-owner car insurance policy to have an SR-22 filed with the state.

What if I Move to Another State?

Some states do not require an SR-22. Although a state may not require you to have one, each state has its own forms and mandatory insurance requirements. If the state you move to does not offer the SR-22, contact your previous state. You need to request permission to provide them with certified documentation in place of the SR-22. This certified documentation must verify that the car insurance policy you purchased meets or exceeds the insurance limits you are required to carry in the state where you committed the traffic violation in.

What are Tennessee SR-22 rates?

SR22 insurance quotes and rates vary by company, as insurance providers determine SR22 rates rather than the state of Tennessee. However, SR-22 insurance rates are often higher than standard auto insurance premiums, as SR22 requirements are generally associated with higher-risk drivers.

In addition to purchasing SR22 insurance in TN, drivers need to obtain a liability auto insurance policy, as SR-22 does not meet the state’s minimum financial responsibility requirements. The SR-22 insurance provider must also be licensed through the state Department of Commerce and Insurance. In addition to SR-22 filing rates and regular auto insurance costs, motorists need to pay driver license reinstatement fees.

The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.

If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.

Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.

Penalties of Not Obtaining SR22 Insurance in Tennessee

If motorists do not obtain SR22 insurance, they cannot reinstate their driving credentials with the TDOSHS until the end of their license suspension. Since drivers generally need to file Tennessee SR22 forms for up to five years, they cannot reinstate their driving license until the end of the five-year period unless they obtain an SR-22 insurance policy through a licensed provider. If drivers do file an SR22 form with their auto insurance provider, they may purchase a standard liability policy and reinstate their driving credentials with the TDOSHS.

Non Owner SR22 Insurance In Tennessee

You may need to file for an SR-22 in order to reinstate your driving privileges in Tennessee even if you don’t own a vehicle or have one registered to you. This could happen if you get a DUI while driving a car that belonged to someone else, or you sold your car while your license was suspended. In order to legally drive a car while you’re required to have an SR-22, you can buy a policy called nonowner SR-22 insurance. Quotes for nonowner SR-22 insurance coverage are often cheaper than purchasing a normal SR-22 policy, since it only protects you—the driver—and does not cover the car you are driving.

If you find yourself in a situation requiring an SR-22 certification, contact SR-22 Insurance. We have been helping drivers successfully obtain their SR-22 certification for years. Our knowledge goes a long way in helping you get through this challenging time.

Comments

Comments are closed.

Need Cheap SR22 Insurance?
Can Save up to 50% on SR22 Insurance

Get Your Free Online Quote Today