TEXAS SR22 INSURANCE
Table of Contents
- 1 TEXAS SR22 INSURANCE
- 2 TEXAS SR22 INSURANCE
- 3 SR-22 insurance limits in Texas
- 4 The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
- 5 Who needs SR22 in Texas?
TEXAS SR22 INSURANCE
Those who have had their license suspended or revoked may be required to get an SR-22 certificate in addition to minimum insurance coverage. An SR-22, also referred to as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility, can be necessary to reinstate and maintain driving privileges. This certificate acts as a proof of insurance, showing the state that the driver has acquired at least the minimum coverage necessary and will retain it for a certain period of time.
Here at SR-22 Insurance, we file an SR-22 form on your behalf so that you can legally begin driving again. Once the certification has been issued, it’s important to keep the car insurance policy in good standing. Insurers are legally required to report lapses in the policy caused by missed payments or cancellations.
- SR-22 insurance limits in Texas
- Who needs SR22 in Texas?
- Texas SR-22 insurance rates
- How to get SR22 insurance in Texas
- What is the Difference Between SR22 and Regular Auto Insurance in Texas?
SR-22 insurance limits in Texas
Texas has imposed minimum liability insurance limits for individuals who have SR-22 status. Typically, if you have an SR-22, you will pay a much higher premium. This means that the total cost of auto insurance can be more expensive to you.
According to Texas Insurance Laws, a person who has SR-22 status should carry minimum liability insurance of not less than:
- $30,000 per person for bodily damage
- $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
While these limits are minimum, they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. It will increase your auto insurance premium if you raise the liability limits but it provides more protection at a small increase. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Who needs SR22 in Texas?
In Texas, SR22 insurance is required in a few scenarios in order for you to get your license reinstated. SR-22s are required after you’ve committed certain violations with the law. You may even be required to have an SR-22 if you’ve had a series of small violations within a short span of time. You could need SR22 insurance for the following reasons:
- Conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI)
- Driving without car insurance
- Driving with a revoked or suspended license
- Having repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets
- Numerous at-fault accidents
- A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries
- Reckless or dangerous driving
- Assignment from a court order
- Failure to pay fines from tickets
- Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test
In Texas, SR22 insurance is also required if you’re required to place a security deposit with the Texas Department of Public Safety if your license has been suspended after a car crash, also known as crash suspension.
- Texas DUI Law
State Blood Alcohol Concentration Levels:
Under age 21 = BAC .02 or higher
CDL drivers = BAC .04 or higher
All drivers = BAC .08 or higher
The fine for your first drunk driving offense in Texas is $2,000 and a mandatory 72 hours jail time. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days but no more than 1 year.
Texas SR-22 insurance rates
Insurance with an SR-22 in Texas is often expensive. This isn’t a result of the SR-22 itself — typical filing fees run just $15 to $35 — but a product of the insurance rate increases that come with the violation that necessitated the SR-22.
Car insurance companies bill higher-risk drivers more to account for the heightened risk of an accident. The rate increase you could face depends on the frequency and severity of the violations. There is no fixed price for SR-22 Insurance in Texas. Just like any other auto insurance policy, the cost of SR-22 varies depending on several factors.
Typically, you should expect to pay between $300 – $800 for the policy. This figure varies depending on the number of prior convictions for DWI, why exactly you require the form, and other personal factors, such as your age, marital status, and driving experience.
Also, you may be charged between $25 – $50 as fees for filing your SR-22. You will also be required to pay the DPS $100 as license reissue/reinstatement fees.
How to get SR22 insurance in Texas
To file for an SR-22 certificate with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), follow these key steps:
- Find an authorized insurer or contact your current provider. Some insurers do not provide SR-22 coverage for drivers who need it, so confirm with your provider if it will file the form on your behalf.
- Pay the appropriate SR-22 fee. Your insurer may charge a flat fee between $25 and $50 to file the form on your behalf. To get your driver’s license reinstated, you first need to pay a reinstatement fee, which is typically around $100, before submitting an SR-22 form to the Texas DPS in Austin.
- Have an insurer file proof of insurance or file directly to the Texas DPS. You can either mail the SR-22 insurance certificate to the DPS or deliver it in person. Otherwise, your insurer can file it electronically on your behalf for a fee. If you want to file the form yourself, you’ll need to first ask your insurer for the certificate.
- Receive confirmation. Once the fees are paid and SR-22 documents sent in, you can check your driver eligibility status online via the Texas DPS website. Your status will be updated to “eligible” from “ineligible” after your documents have been processed.
Difference Between SR22 and Regular Auto Insurance in Texas
If you’ve never taken out SR-22 insurance before, you may be wondering how it differs from regular auto insurance. But, there isn’t any distinct difference between regular car insurance and SR-22. Texas requires all motorists to have liability insurance. Therefore, regardless of whether or not you have been convicted for DWI, you still need auto insurance to drive legally.
Probably the only difference between SR-22 and regular auto insurance is the cost. The price for SR-22 is usually much higher than that for regular car insurance.
SR-22 works just like a monitoring system. The state utilizes this monitoring system to assess whether DWI convicts and other traffic offenders have complied with its liability auto insurance laws. Unless you prove your compliance by filing an SR-22 form, your driver’s license will remain suspended. After you have met the SR-22 insurance requirements, you will continue with your regular auto insurance policy as before.
Get Insured Today
SR-22 Insurance is working every day to help Texans obtain the coverage they need to legally drive. We work with many customers seeking high-risk Texas SR-22 insurance at the lowest possible rates. If you suspect that your current or previous auto insurance company has been overcharging you, allow us to show you a quote that you’ll love.
Visit our website to get your FREE auto insurance quote, or give us a call to discuss setting up a new policy over the phone. https://sr22insurance.net/sr22-insurance-quotes/