Contact us

Send us an email!

Contact details:


Your message has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Travel insurance Quote

Level of protection: $

Contact details:


Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Car insurance Quote

Contact details:

Your car:

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Life insurance Quote

Level of protection: $

Contact details:

Have you used tobacco or nicotine products in the last 12 months?

Yes, I have No, I have not
Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

House insurance Quote

Your house:

Contact details:

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.
New Customers
Can Save up to 50% on SR22 Insurance

Get Your Free Online Quote Today

Zz_Texas SR22 Insurance

SR22 Insurance Texas

Individuals who have had their driver’s license suspended or revoked in the state of Texas are required to file an SR22 with the state’s Department of Public Safety (DPS) in order to have their driving privileges reinstated. This form, which can be obtained from your insurance carrier, provides proof to the state that you are maintaining at least the minimum liability insurance coverage required by state law. The insurance policy that is issued with this form is generally the same as a standard insurance policy but often carries much higher premiums.

  • To meet the insurance requirements for the State of Texas, a driver with SR-22 insurance will need to have limits that are of least:
  • $30,000 for bodily damage per person injured in an accident
  • $60,000 for bodily injury per accident 3380
  • $25,000 of property damage coverage per accident.
  • Once the driver has kept your SR-22 insurance for the requiredperiod, it is their responsibility to get in touch with their insurance provider and let them know that they no longer need to file an SR-22. Unless the driver makes the call, their insurance provider will continue to file the SR-22 for them.

Why Would I Need SR22 Insurance in Texas?

Most often, a driver will need an SR22 if his or her driver’s license was suspended or revoked. This could be due to being convicted of driving under the influence, causing an accident while driving without adequate insurance or accumulating a significant number of points on your driver’s license in a short period of time. Even if you do not own a car, but may drive other people’s vehicles, you will need to obtain a Non-Owner SR22 insurance policy in order to have your driver’s license restored.

Some of the most common reasons why a driver will need SR-22 Insurance can include:

  • The failure to show proof of insurance
  • Having a DUI or DWI or any serious moving violation.
  • Repeat traffic violations or too many tickets in a short time.
  • Driving on a revoked or suspended license

Once you are required to take out SR-22 auto insurance in Texas, you will need to file and maintain a form SR22 insurance certification with the Department of Public Safety.

How Long Do I Need to Maintain Coverage?

According to the Texas DPS, a driver is required to maintain the policy for two years from the date of the incident in question. Your driving privileges will be suspended if any of the following occur during that two year time period:

  • You fail to be obtained by the deadline.
  • You allow your coverage to lapse.
  • Your insurance company cancels your policy and you fail to obtain a replacement policy right away.

Insurance companies are required to notify the state if they cancel your policy for any reason or if you allow the policy to expire, so there is no way for you to avoid this requirement and keep your driver’s license. The state will automatically suspend your license if they receive such notification.

Once two years have passed, you will need to take the necessary steps to reinstate your suspended license. To do this, special requirements must be fulfilled. It is a good idea to consult with an attorney with experience in this area when attempting to get your license back.

Keep in mind that there are some situations that may cause changes to your current auto insurance policy.

To reinstate your license, you will need to do the following:

  • Serve the entire required suspension period.
  • Pay the reinstatement fee before the renewal or issuance of your driver’s license. This fee is $100. There may be other additional outstanding fees owed based on individual circumstances. Youmust pay these fees before reinstatement of your license.
  • Obtain an SR22 (a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate) from an authorized car insurance agency. You must maintain an SR22 for two years from the date you were convicted.
  • Comply with all Driver Responsibility Program surcharges.

What are the Purchasing Guidelines?

Most insurance providers will write up the proper paperwork, so you should first check with your current carrier for such a policy. However, it is a good idea to also obtain quotes from other companies, as each insurer rates the factors that determine premiums differently. Some of the factors they consider include:

  • An offense requiring an SR22
  • Other driving offenses in the past three years
  • The age and gender of all drivers on the policy
  • The age and model of the vehicle(s) to be insured

While it is likely that your insurance premiums will increase due to the SR22 filing, you may be able to find a more affordable policy by shopping around with different providers before purchasing your policy.

While insurance premiums for those who have SR-22 insurance, there are some things you can do to help lower your premium costs. It’s always a smart idea to shop around to find the best deal on your premium. Your current insurer may cancel your coverage and decline to renew your policy after you have received this type of violation. If that is the case, you will need to look for a new car insurance provider to cover you.

If you are unable to find a new insurance company that will provide you with coverage, you will need to consult with the state’s high-risk insurance pool to find another provider. To get started, you must check out the directory of Automobile Insurance Plan Service Office in Texas for more

Do I Have A Secondary Option?

Provided you already have an insurance policy that meets the state’s minimum requirements, the law allows you to purchase a secondary policy. This may prove to be a less costly way to obtain the coverage that you need, but you must be sure that all of your policies together add up to at least the state minimum requirements which are $30,000 per person bodily injury, $60,000 per incident bodily injury and $25,000 per incident property damage.

Of course, there is the fact that many insurance providers will not continue to offer their clients coverage once they have received a DUI or other similar offense, If that is the case, and the driver is unable to find a provider who will cover them, they will need to look for a high-risk auto insurance provider.

High-risk auto insurance is a category of coverage for drivers who have past violations, those who are inexperienced behind the wheel, or drivers who have poor credit. If you meet one or more of these factors, many car insurance providers consider you to be a high-risk driver. This means your premiums will be higher than others. The good news is that there are plenty of auto insurance providers out there who offer SR-22 insurance plans, so you do not have to be concerned about being turned down.

How Do I Submit an SR22

Unlike some other states, Texas does allow drivers to submit an SR22 themselves. The form can be submitted in person at designated DPS locations, or it can be mailed to the main DPS office in Austin. The address can be found on the DPS website, Most insurance companies will submit the form on behalf of their policyholders, although some do charge a fee for this service.

If you’ve lost your driving privileges, obtaining SR22 insurance is a necessary step in having those privileges restored. You will then need to maintain that policy for the next two years, but after that time has expired, you will be able to go back to the normal insurance coverage.

When you are ready to mail off your paperwork to have your driver’s license reinstated, you will need to have a check or money order payable to TX DPS to pay your fees if they are required. Send that along with your full name, date of birth, and your driver’s license number to the Texas Department of Public Safety. There are two different addresses to use, one for those who are paying fees, and the other is for those who do not need to pay fees.

What is the Difference Between SR22 and Regular Auto Insurance in Texas??

If you have never taken out an SR22 insurance plan in the past, you probably have a lot of questions about this type of policy. One of the main questions that drivers have is what the difference is between SR22 insurance and regular insurance. The answer to that is nothing. There is no difference in coverage or how the coverage applies to you if you are involved in an automobile accident.

Each state requires drivers to have a certain amount of insurance coverage, therefore no matter what you are buying the insurance for, whether it is a car, truck or an ATV, you will still need to have at least the minimum amount of coverage.

Sometimes the difference between the two is the price. There are some insurance providers who will charge their customers extra for an SR-22 policy. But that is not always the case with every provider.

The main difference between regular car insurance and SR-22 is that it works like an insurance monitoring system. The state uses this system to keep track of repeat offenders. If a policy is canceled before all the SR-22 requirements have been met, that person’s license will be suspended until compliance is met.

Once the SR-22 requirements have been fulfilled, the driver cancontinue with their car insurance policy as they had before the incident happened.

What Determines If a Driver is a High-Risk Driver?

There are several reasons why a driver would be considered high-risk. These reasons can include…

  • DUI Offense
  • Young Driver
  • First Time Driver
  • Having a Lapse in Insurance Coverage
  • Poor Credit History
  • Additional Serious Driving Violations

How Much Does an SR22 Cost in Texas?

Drivers who take out an SR22 car insurance policy are automatically categorized into a high-risk group. Therefore, they will have to pay more for their insurance coverage because of the marks that are now against their driving record. They are considered a much higher risk to the insurance provider since they have already violated the law and could possibly do so again in the future. Therefore, SR22 car insurance policies are much higher than a regular insurance policy. But the coverage amount will stay the same. That is why most drivers who need SR22 insurance will only take out the minimum amount of coverage required so that they will not have to pay out more than they need to for their insurance.

When Do I Have to Renew My SR22 Policy in Texas?

With a standard insurance policy, you will have up until the day it expires to renew your policy. With an SR22 insurance plan, you don’t receive that much flexibility. There is less room for error with this type of insurance.

Companies who offer SR22 are obligated to be in contact with the Texas DPS if a driver’s policy is not renewed within 15 days of it expiring. A non-renewal may result in the suspension of the policy holder’s driver’s license.

Is an SR-26 the same as an SR22 in Texas?

No, an SR26 is not the same as an SR22. An SR26 insurance form is filed when the SR22 certificate is no longer needed or if the insurance policy has been canceled. An SR22 certificate lets your current insurance company share information with the Texas DPS. This lets the DPS k know that the driver is continuing to carry the minimum amount of coverage required by law.

When the SR22 form is no longer required, the insurance company will then begin to file an SR26 form with the DPS. If the proof of the driver’s financial responsibility is still necessary, filing an SR26 will lead to revocation of all driving privileges within a short time, usually a few days.

An SR26 form states that the driver no longer has an SR22 or high-risk policy with that insurance provider. It may be filed for one of three reasons:

  • The SR22 filing period has ended.
  • The driver has canceled their SR22 insurance
  • The driver failed to renew their SR22 insurance after the grace period has ended.

When an SR26 is filed, and the driver still has an SR22 requirement to fulfill, they will have to start over again with filing an SR22 if they want to be allowed to drive. In some states, doing so will reset the filing period. This means that if you had a three-year filing period and then canceled your policy early, you will have another three-year SR22 insurance filing period.

What is Non-Owners Auto Insurance?

Non-owner car insurance is a policy that provides liability coverage when you don’t own a vehicle. It is purchased by individual drivers, so multiple drivers aren’t covered under one policy. Most non-owner insurance policies don’t offer additional coverage besides liability, such as physical damage or medical. But it is possible to find medical coverage with this type of plan depending on the insurance provider.

Non-Owners auto insurance has several benefits. They are available practically everywhere, although many people have never heard of them.

With this type of coverage, if a driver borrowed a friend’s vehicle and their friend has the minimum amount of liability insurance, if the driver was involved in a serious accident, their non-owner car insurance policy can pay for any excess damage.

Which Texas Law Requires Me to Get an SR22?

According to the Texas Transportation Code, Section 601, suspended drivers who lost their driving privileges due to certain violations are required to file an SR22 with the Texas DPS. If they want to maintain their driver’s license, this law is also known as the Safety Responsibility Act.

How Long Does It Take to Process an SR22 in Texas?

It can take as long as 21 business days for the Texas DPS to process an SR22. To find out more about how to submit your SR22, you can visit the Reinstating Your Driver License page on the Texas DPS website.



Comments are closed.

Need Cheap SR22 Insurance?
Can Save up to 50% on SR22 Insurance

Get Your Free Online Quote Today