Contact us

Send us an email!

Contact details:

Message:

Your message has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Travel insurance Quote

Level of protection: $

Contact details:

Travel

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Car insurance Quote

Contact details:

Your car:

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

Life insurance Quote

Level of protection: $

Contact details:

Have you used tobacco or nicotine products in the last 12 months?

Yes, I have No, I have not
Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.

House insurance Quote

Your house:

Contact details:

Your Quote Form has been sent successfully. Close this notice.
New Jersey Residents
Can Save up to 50% on SR22 Insurance

Get Your Free Online Quote Today

Alabama SR22 Insurance

Alabama SR22 Insurance

SR22 Insurance in Alabama

An SR22 form is a document often required by a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proving that a driver is carrying the state’s required minimum amount of vehicle liability insurance. SR22’s are typically needed for a driver to reinstate their driver’s license and therefore driving privileges after an offense such as a DWI/DUI conviction or uninsured auto accident.

An SR-22 is not an insurance policy; it’s simply a financial responsibility form that proves an individual has the minimum liability insurance as required by law. In order to have your driver’s license reinstated, you must file an SR-22 form with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles to prove that you are covered by the proper amount of liability insurance. The filing is done by your insurance company.

If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked due to any of the following offenses or if you are involved in any of the following conditions, the state of Alabama may require you to submit an SR-22 insurance filing in order to reinstate your driving privileges.

  • Driving without auto insurance
  • Driving with a suspended or revoked license
  • Accumulating too many points against a driving record
  • DUI or DWI offense
  • Reckless driving
  • Refusal to test for DUI or DWI
  • Uninsured accidents
  • Child support or neglect cases
  • Legal judgments

Alabama SR-22 requirements

Do you need to file an SR-22 form in Alabama? An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that proves to Alabama that you have the minimum liability insurance mandated by law. If your license was suspended or revoked, you may need to file an SR-22 before you can apply to get it reinstated.

If you’re required to have SR22 insurance, you’ll be required to maintain your SR22 insurance for a specified number of years in Alabama. Typically, SR-22 is required for three years at a minimum, although the length of filing the form depends on the nature of the offense. You must maintain your SR22 insurance coverage continuously throughout your filing period without a lapse in coverage.

The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.

If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.

Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.

SR-22 insurance limits in Alabama

An Alabama SR22 insurance policy verifies to the state that you have at least the minimum amount of liability insurance coverage required by law.

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person – is for the occurrence of a serious or permanent injury that someone sustains while in an accident with you driving.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident – This is the maximum payout and must be divided among the individuals involved in the accident. If another person tries to sue you regarding the accident, the insurance company will provide the legal representation for you in court to handle all problems that arise from it.
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident – The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident. If you or a family member are driving and involved in an accident, the insurance company will pay for damages incurred for up to $25,000. If there are damages above and beyond, you will shoulder that out of your pocket.

Alabama requires an SR-22 for a minimum of three years — usually for driving without insurance. When you’re convicted of a DUI, you could need to file an SR-22 for up to five years. The state can choose to reduce your requirement to 36 months if you keep your record clean and your insurance is up to date for the first 3 years.

If you fail to pay on your policy, the state will revoke your SR-22. Your insurance company is forced to file an SR-26 with the DMV, and your license is suspended until a new SR-22 is filed. Don’t make a complicated situation worse by missing payments or not renewing your insurance policy. Failing to pay your insurance or renew your SR-22 coverage could reset the clock on your filing period and put you right back to square one.

Even if you don’t own a vehicle, you’ll need insurance if your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked – you will need to buy non-owner SR-22 insurance to have your driver’s license reinstated, and you will need to be covered by SR-22 if you occasionally drive a vehicle owned by someone else.

Alabama SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020
We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.

Comments

Comments are closed.

Need Cheap SR22 Insurance?
Can Save up to 50% on SR22 Insurance

Get Your Free Online Quote Today