Georgia SR22 Insurance
Table of Contents
SR22 Insurance in Georgia
A Georgia SR22 car insurance form, sometimes called a SR-22 financial responsibility insurance form, is a special type of insurance form that shows the Georgia authorities that the driver of a motor vehicle is financially responsible for carrying continuous car insurance with at least the minimum amount of liability coverage for the state. The SR-22 form needs to be filed with the Georgia department of motor vehicles so that they are confident that the driver is covered and can drive safely. The car insurance company and the driver are responsible for filing the SR-22 form with the state.
How do I get the SR-22?
Georgia state law requires all registered drivers to carry car insurance of certain minimum limits. If you fail to carry this coverage, you are breaking the law, and thus might be subject to the SR-22 penalty. Still, even if you have car insurance already, you might have to file for the SR-22 after a qualifying offense such as DUI, reckless driving, and more.
All SR-22 certificates will guarantee that you carry the minimum $25,000/$50,000/$25,000 auto liability insurance coverage required by state law. However, you can often buy more liability coverage, along with collision, comprehensive, uninsured motorist coverage and more.
SR-22 penalties last for at least three years in Georgia, and you must keep your auto policy active at all times during this penalty. If you let your car insurance lapse, so will the SR-22, and that could lead to several additional penalties. When you get your SR-22 requirement, you might have to pay for your auto policy in-full at the time you start coverage. This helps ensure you never cause a policy lapse.
Generally, the Motor Vehicle Department of the State sends out a notification if an SR22 insurance Florida is required. So, if you have not been the recipient of any such information, then it is safe to assume that you do not need to get SR22 insurance.
How long will I need an SR-22 in Georgia?
Georgia could require you to maintain an SR-22 or SR-22A for at least three years. This requirement could increase, depending on your driving offense. It can also decrease depending on your driving after the mandate and your level of risk. If you do maintain the SR22, then your insurance company must, by law, report you to the DMV/state to let them know you are in violation, so it’s not unlike parole for people who have recently left jail. After successful completion of the SR22 period, your normal license can be reinstated if it was revoked.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
What’s an SR-22A?
Georgia is one of a few states that has two types of SR-22s—standard SR-22s and SR22As. The SR-22A is slightly different from the SR-22, in that the SR-22A is for low-level driving offenders, while the SR-22 is for habitual offenders. There are fee differences between the two. An SR-22 is required for drivers who are convicted of three or more violations within a five-year period. More common in Georgia, SR-22As are for drivers convicted of only one or two violations over a five-year period. You might need one if you’re caught driving without insurance or with a suspended license.
Georgia SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020
We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.