Colorado SR22 Insurance
Table of Contents
- 1 Colorado SR22 Insurance
- 2 SR22 Insurance in Colorado
- 3 How do I file an SR-22 in Colorado?
- 4 The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
- 5 How much will SR-22 cost?
- 6 Colorado SR22 Law
SR22 Insurance in Colorado
SR22 form Insurance is required to get your driver’s license reinstated after you have been convicted of a DUI, too many points on your license, at fault accident, suspended license reinstatement or by court order. The state of CO requires the SR-22 form to be filed by your insurance carrier with the Department of Motor Vehicles. The SR-22 filing serves as proof to the state that you have the liability coverage required by law to get your license back. After a drivers license has been revoked, Colorado requires that the driver file an SR22 form before they can have their license reinstated.
How do I file an SR-22 in Colorado?
- Find an insurer. Ask your insurer if it’s authorized to issue SR-22s by the state of Colorado. If not, find a provider that is.
- Pay the SR-22 fee. To finalize your SR-22, you’ll pay your insurer a fee for the filing convenience.
- Verify minimum liability coverage. If you’re already insured, call your provider to make sure your policy includes at least 25/50/15 coverage:
- Submit your SR-22. Ask your insurance agent to file your SR-22 for you, or mail it to the Colorado DMV in Lakewood. If you mail your SR-22, you may need to include an
Application for Reinstatement form if your license was suspended.
- $15,000 – injury or death of one person
- $30,000 – injury or death of more than one person
- $10,000 – damage to property
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
How much will SR-22 cost?
SR-22 is relatively inexpensive; however, SR-22 is a red flag to your insurance provider that you have problems with your driving history and are now a high risk loss. Requesting and obtaining SR-22 lets your insurance company know something is going on with your driving history and encourages the insurance company to investigate further into why you are being required to have an SR-22. This investigation oftentimes leads to your insurance company finding out about your DUI or other traffic issues. This information is what causes the insurance company to dramatically raise your rates as they now classify you as high risk.
Just like normal car insurance that has owner’s and non-owner’s policy – SR22 has the same too. In Colorado, you may be required to obtain SR22 whether you own or do not own a car.
There are three main options to go for:
- Operator’s certificate – issued to the drivers that do not own a vehicle that they drive.
- Owner’s certificate – issued to the drivers that own a vehicle that they drive.
- Operator-Owner’s certificate – issued to the drivers that drive vehicles both owned and not owned. All vehicles that will be used are going to be listed in policy.
Colorado SR22 Law
As mentioned before, drivers who have SR22 requirements are in the high-risk category. These drivers will need to reinstate their driver’s license first. Also they are going to deal with increased premiums and SR22 certificates.
In Colorado SR22 is mandated for 3 years. That means you can’t pause it and then renew. For 3 years you have to maintain your policy, and be sure that it is active for a full period of requirement. In case your SR22 lapses or you fail to maintain your car insurance policy, your insurance provider will instantly inform Colorado DMV about your policy changes. SR26 form of cancellation will be issued automatically. In that case your driver’s license will be suspended. To restore your driver’s privileges you will need to get another SR22 and start over a 3 year term. The only way to get rid of the SR22 requirement in Colorado is either to drive safe, or file for SR22 immediately for a full term.
Colorado SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020
We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.