Cheap SR22 Insurance Florida: Rates & Costs Compared
We’ve Uncovered the Cheapest SR-22 Insurance Companies & Rates in Florida
[and you can get the best price through our price comparison tool above! Buy today.]
SR22 isn’t technically insurance; it’s a certificate of responsibility. This certificate of Financial Responsibility is vital for those who have been deemed risky drivers. In fact, if they don’t carry it, they will be reported to the state (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, or HSMV) and lose their right to drive. These high-risk drivers are required to carry SR22 to prove they have the minimum requirement of Florida insurance.
Generally, the Motor Vehicle Department of the State sends out a notification if an SR22 insurance Florida is required. So, if you have not been the recipient of any such information, then it is safe to assume that you do not need to get SR22 insurance.
Cheapest Average SR-22 Insurance Companies in Florida
Overall SR22 Average Rate by Company
SR22 Insurance Companies with Lowest Cost: Liability Only
|Mendota Ins. Company||$106|
SR22 Insurance Companies with Lowest Cost: Full Coverage
|Company||SR22 Full Coverage (average)|
|Mendota Ins. Company||$175.00|
Cheapest FL SR-22 Insurance Companies, by City
|The Hammocks||Liberty Mutual|
|Deerfield Beach||The General|
|Fort Myers||The General|
|Town ‘n’ Country||Progressive|
|Cape Coral||Bristol West|
|Port St. Lucie||Dairyland*|
|The Villages||The General|
|Lehigh Acres||The General|
|Wesley Chapel||The General|
|Pine Hills||The General|
|Port Orange||The General|
|Palm Beach Gardens||Liberty Mutual|
|Miami Beach||Liberty Mutual|
|Bonita Springs||National General|
|West Palm Beach||The General|
Lowest SR22 Insurance Costs by City: Liability Only
|Town ‘n’ Country||$94.00|
|Port St. Lucie||$95.00|
|West Palm Beach||$90.00|
Lowest SR22 Insurance Costs by City: Full Coverage
|Town ‘n’ Country||$155|
|West Palm Beach||$181|
|Palm Beach Gardens||$166|
|Port St. Lucie||$157|
How Much More Expensive is CA SR22 Insurance vs. Regular Insurance?
|Company||Avg. cost per year||Avg. cost per year with SR-22 and DUI||% change|
Which Companies Offer SR22 Insurance in Florida?
|Company||Is SR22 Offered?|
|Mendota Ins. Company||yes|
Non-Owner SR-22 Insurance Rates by Company in FL
What Offenses Require Florida SR22 Insurance?
Not all traffic violations result in the need for SR22 auto insurance, but any offense that results in the suspension of driving privileges will almost always require such a filing. Some of the offenses include:
- Driving Under Influence (DUI)
- Reckless driving
- Causing an accident while uninsured
- Failing to satisfy a court judgment that resulted from an accident
- Failure to provide proof of insurance when stopped for a traffic violation
If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you will be required to obtain the much more stringent SR44 insurance.
Maintaining your SR22 policy for the years required by the state of Florida will be necessary to maintain driving privileges, and at the end of the period a reinstatement fee (or filing fee) as is typically required.
Types of SR-22 Policies in Florida
- Auto Owner Policy – which is a standard auto insurance policy which covers a driver on their owned personal vehicle
- Non Owners or Operator policy – is an auto insurance policy which covers a driver for vehicles that they don’t own. A driver who does not have a vehicle registered in their name may purchase a Non-owner policy. Non-owner policies cost far less and carry significantly lower premiums, while still meeting compliance for all SR-22 and FR44 requirements.
- Motorcycle Policy – A standard motorcycle insurance policy with an SR-22 filing attached.
How Do I Maintain Coverage?
Any driver who has been notified of the need for SR22 insurance must ensure that this form is filed with the state within 30 days of notification. It is also the responsibility of the driver to ensure that the form is filed each time the policy renews throughout the duration of the SR22 requirement, which is typically 36 months from the date of suspension. The state does not notify drivers that a renewal date is approaching and failure to maintain a current SR22 certificate will result in automatic suspension of your driver’s license. A suspended license may mean you are forced to take public transportation or catch a ride with a friend.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
How Much Does an SR-22 Cost in Florida?
Filing for an SR-22 requires a nominal fee of $15 to $25. The bigger cost, however, is the higher policy premiums that will likely result from an SR-22’s impact on your driving record. Marks on your driving records typically place you in a high-risk pool of drivers, which increases your monthly premium. Insurers may also require you purchase a year’s worth of coverage up front, rather than pay monthly.
What if I am Moving to or From Florida?
Whether you are a resident moving out of state or are moving to Florida from another location, you will be required to maintain the proper filing in the state that imposed that requirement. Residents must ensure that the policy in their new state of residence meets the minimum liability insurance requirements, which are:
- $10,000 of bodily injury coverage per person in an accident
- $20,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
- $10,000 of property damage coverage per accident
FR44 Insurance in Florida
An FR-44 insurance policy is similar to an SR-22, in that it’s an auto insurance policy with an endorsement. The insurer electronically files a certificate of financial responsibility with the state of Florida to show proof that you’re carrying the required liability insurance coverage. And if there’s a lapse in coverage, such as if your policy is canceled or lapses due to nonpayment, your insurer must notify the state that coverage is no longer in place.
However, FR-44 insurance is generally only required if you’ve been found guilty of driving under the influence (a DUI) or driving while intoxicated (a DWI), as you’re considered a higher-risk driver. Therefore, FR-44 insurance is sometimes referred to as “DUI insurance.” DUI convictions are considered quite serious, and the liability insurance requirements for FR-44 insurance in Florida are significantly greater than those for SR-22 insurance. In addition to PIP (personal injury protection) coverage, you’ll need to have a policy with liability limits of at least:
- $100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person injured in an accident
- $300,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
- $50,000 of property damage liability coverage per accident
Can I Obtain Coverage After the Fact?
It is possible for drivers to avoid a license suspension for causing an accident without adequate insurance coverage. In order to do so, you must meet the following conditions:
- You must pay any fines imposed due to the accident.
- You must obtain a qualified policy and file notice with the state.
- You must come to an agreement for restitution with all involved parties and obtain signatures attesting to such.
All of this must be completed before the suspension date listed in the inquiry notice sent to you by the flhsmv. Failing to maintain coverage will cause your insurance agency to report the lapse to the DMV
If you are traveling within the state borders and cause an accident, you will need to have your insurance company certify in writing that your out-of-state insurance policy complies with the minimum requirements. Failure to do so can result in your driving privileges being suspended, which may or may not affect your license status in your home state.
Safe Driving Resources for Florida Students
Licensing Requirements for Teens, Graduated Driver License Laws and Driving Curfews
Requirements for Teens Obtaining a Florida Learner’s License
Licensing Requirements for Teens, Graduated Driver License Laws and Driving Curfews
INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS AND SCHOLARS DRIVING IN THE STATE OF FLORIDA
- cheap car insurance for first time drivers
- san diego quotes
- car insurance quotes ohio
- insure one SR22 quotes
- car insurance after DUI
- SR22 ohio BMV
- SR22 in los angeles
- SR22 florida
- SR22 insurance iowa
- SR22 indiana
- SR22 chicago
- cheap SR22 insurance idaho
- cheap car insurance california SR22
- AZ SR22
- cheap car insurance maui
- select insurance SR22
- SR22 Wisconsin
- nebraska SR22 auto insurance
- SR22 virginia
- cheap SR22 insurance utah
- SR22 bond ohio
- non owners SR22 south carolina
- DUI insurance nevada
- whats SR22 insurance
- cheap SR22 non owner insurance
- without insurance
- why do you need SR22
- how to obtain SR22 insurance
- i need an SR22
- FR44 insurance florida
- what happens if you don t get SR22 insurance
We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.
Comments are closed.