California SR22 Insurance
Table of Contents
- 1 California SR22 Insurance
- 2 SR22 Insurance in California
- 3 Some examples of situations where the California DMV may require you to file an SR22 include (but are not limited to):
- 4 California Ignition Interlock Devices
- 5 In California, all IIDs are designed to make sure that only the convicted driver can provide the breath sample. This is ensured by the following:
- 6 The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
- 7 What is the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan?
- 8 How Long Do I Have to Maintain SR22 Coverage in California?
- 9 What if I Fail to Obtain or Maintain my SR22 Coverage?
- 10 Difference Between the SR1P and SR-22 in California
- 11 How much insurance you need in California
SR22 Insurance in California
California drivers that are convicted of certain violations, such as a DUI or reckless driving, may be required to purchase SR-22 insurance in order to get their driving privileges reinstated. With this policy, an SR-22 form is submitted to the DMV by your insurer to confirm that your auto insurance meets California’s minimum liability requirements. If you don’t own a car, but intend to continue driving, you would have to purchase a non owners SR-22 policy, which just provides liability insurance coverage.
Some examples of situations where the California DMV may require you to file an SR22 include (but are not limited to):
- Reinstating your driving privilege following a DUI or wet-reckless2 suspension/revocation
- Being involved in an accident when you were uninsured
- Reinstating your driving privilege after the DMV suspended/revoked it because it declared you a negligent operator (you may be declared a negligent operator if you obtain too many points on your driving record within a specific timeframe)
- Driving after drinking when you’re younger than 21.
- Not paying what a court says you owe if you’re sued after an accident.
California Ignition Interlock Devices
Effective January 1, 2019, California DUI law changed. All repeat DUI offenders and all injury-involved DUI offenders are required to install an ignition interlock. First time DUI offenders will receive a 30-day temporary license after an arrest. To keep driving beyond the 30 days, installing an ignition interlock should be done.
An ignition interlock device is a type of mini-breathalyzer instrument. About the size of a cell phone, it is installed on the steering column of your car. Before you start your car, you must blow into the IID and provide an alcohol-free breath sample. If you don’t, your car will not start. Once you are driving, the IID will ask for random samples, between 5-15 minutes after you begin driving and then about every 45 minutes thereafter.
When the instrument asks for these “rolling” samples, you have six minutes to provide a sample–plenty of time to pull over if you don’t feel that you can safely provide a sample while driving. If you don’t “pass”, your ignition interlock device will not disable your car. The IID will, however, register a “fail” on your log that gets reported to the court.
In California, all IIDs are designed to make sure that only the convicted driver can provide the breath sample. This is ensured by the following:
- Requiring a specific breath pattern from the driver.
- Each device has a short cord that will not reach the passenger or the back seat of the vehicle.
- Requires a random sample while driving.
- It is a crime to ask another person to provide their sample for you fraudulently.
- While it may be possible for an individual to find ways around those factors, the technology for IIDs in California is very advanced. These IIDs can detect and record if the driver disconnects or tampers with the device.
Another thing to keep in mind about ignition interlock devices in California is once they are installed, the driver must take it in for servicing once every 60 days.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
What is the California Automobile Assigned Risk Plan?
Under California law, all drivers must carry car insurance. It is a processing center by which people who have trouble buying automobile insurance are put in touch with an insurance company which will insure them. From then on, the person and the certified producer communicate with the insurance company as if they had chosen the company.
How Long Do I Have to Maintain SR22 Coverage in California?
In California, an SR-22 requirement typically lasts three years. Your driver’s license may be suspended or revoked for a few months to a few years, depending on the violation and your history of other violations, and your SR-22 requirement begins after that. However, there are some cases where you may need to keep an SR22 policy for as long as ten years or more. This is usually for drivers facing severe violations such as reckless driving. Even with the longer term, drivers should still maintain consistent, uninterrupted coverage the entire time.
What if I Fail to Obtain or Maintain my SR22 Coverage?
According to the California DMV, failure to either obtain or properly maintain SR22 insurance for the full three years will result in automatic suspension of your driver’s license. You will not be able to renew your license if it expires while suspended. If you are caught driving on a suspended license, you will be subject to immediate arrest and potential criminal charges.
Difference Between the SR1P and SR-22 in California
If you drive a vehicle with fewer than four wheels, such as a motorcycle or moped, you may need to file an SR1P form in California, instead of an SR-22 and proof of liability insurance. SR1Ps are usually required if you’ve had your license suspended after driving without insurance or after being convicted of risky driving behavior.
How much insurance you need in California
At a minimum, California requires drivers to have liability insurance with these limits:
- $15,000 bodily injury liability per person.
- $30,000 bodily injury liability per accident.
- $5,000 property damage liability per accident.
To get an SR-22 in California, you’ll need to buy at least that much coverage, and you may want to consider more. Even if no one is injured, a wreck can easily cause over $5,000 in property damage — and if the accident is your fault, you’ll be responsible for paying the rest.
California SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020
We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.