Louisiana SR22 Insurance
Table of Contents
- 1 Louisiana SR22 Insurance
- 2 SR22 Insurance in Louisiana
- 3 Three forms of SR22 Certificates in Louisiana
- 4 How Do I File a Louisiana SR22 Insurance Form?
- 5 The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
- 6 Louisiana Liability Insurance Requirements
SR22 Insurance in Louisiana
A Louisiana SR22 car insurance certificate, or a financial responsibility insurance form, is a document that serves as proof that a driver is financially responsible for carrying the minimum car insurance required by the state. Motorists who were involved in accidents were uninsured at the time, and failed to pay compensatory damages; drivers with unsatisfied judgments; or drivers whose licenses were revoked for other reasons must all carry Louisiana SR-22 insurance.
Three forms of SR22 Certificates in Louisiana
- A certificate that will cover the financial responsibility of a driver who is not the owner of the vehicle.
- A certificate that will cover the financial responsibility of a driver who owns the vehicle.
- A certificate that will cover the financial responsibility of a driver who may or may not own the vehicle.
How Do I File a Louisiana SR22 Insurance Form?
Your insurance company files your request for an SR22 with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety. You will be required to pay a processing fee, which varies among agencies. Once your Louisiana SR-22 insurance form is accepted, your insurer will send you the SR22 along with a letter from the Department of Public Safety. Louisiana SR22 auto insurance must be maintained for three years. Your insurer will notify the State if you fail to renew your Louisiana SR-22 insurance at least 15 days before the expiration date. The State may suspend your driving record until your Louisiana SR22 car insurance is reinstated.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Louisiana Liability Insurance Requirements
The state of Louisiana requires liability insurance to protect other drivers in the event of an accident. The minimum limits are:
- $15k Per Person Bodily Injury
- $30k Per Accident Bodily Injury
- $25k Property Damage
While these limits are minimum they are rarely recommended levels of coverage. Ask your insurance agent what they recommend based on your financial position.
Financial responsibility can be proven in the following ways.
- An SR – 22 is filed by your insurance company for you.
- A deposit of $30,000 in cash or negotiable securities with the Louisiana State Treasurer
- A surety bond posted with the Office of Motor Vehicles in the amount of $30,00
In summary, If you have had your driver’s license suspended or revoked, you will need an SR – 22. In addition, there will be several steps you need to take in order to partially have your driving privilege restored so that you may be able to drive again even after you have been sanctioned.
Louisiana SR22 Insurance Page Updated 7/20/2020 We operate in all 50 states. No matter where you live, we can help you find great SR22 insurance.