Table of Contents
- 1 TITLE
- 2 UTAH SR22 INSURANCE
- 3 SR-22 Insurance Costs in Utah
- 4 The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
- 5 Non-owner SR-22 in Utah
UTAH SR22 INSURANCE
Need Utah SR-22 Insurance? We can help. We can issue your proof of insurance requirement and have your SR22 insurance form filed with the state. We work with several insurance companies throughout Utah to get you the cheapest SR22 insurance quotes. You can satisfy your SR-22 requirements by purchasing an auto, non owner, or motorcycle policy with an SR-22 financial responsibility form attached. This form is electronically filed by your insurance provider and is verification that you have met the SR-22 requirement.
- What is Utah SR-22 insurance?
- When is Utah SR-22 insurance necessary?
- SR-22 Insurance Costs in Utah
- How long will I need an SR-22 for in Utah?
- What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
- Are There Different Types of Utah SR-22 Forms?
- Non-owner SR-22 in Utah
What is Utah SR-22 insurance?
Instead of being a type of insurance, a Utah SR-22 is a document the DMV keeps on file that legally proves you have met your state’s minimum insurance requirements.
Utah requires all drivers to have a 25/65/15 policy. Written out, this means insurance providers must cover up to:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $65,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident for property damage
Therefore, an SR-22 in Utah proves that your car insurance either meets or exceeds a 25/65/15 policy.
When is Utah SR22 insurance necessary?
You may be wondering who needs SR22 insurance in Utah since this type of coverage is less common than the typical policies. As a car owner and operator, you must buy SR 22 insurance if you have had your license suspended or revoked and wish to regain your driving privileges. The most common reasons for needing SR22 and losing your driver license include the following:
- Being charged with DUI or DWI
- Driving recklessly
- Exceeding the maximum number of allowable points on your driving record
- Being involved in frequent accidents
- Violating the Financial Responsibility Law or the Implied Consent Law
SR-22 Insurance Costs in Utah
Most insurance companies charge a filing fee. Rates vary, but expect a one time charge of around $25. Although an SR-22 is not insurance, being required to have it will potentially have an indirect effect on your insurance rate. How much so depends on the offense that necessitated it in the first place. A DUI, for example, drastically increases how much an insurance company charges for both minimum and full coverage.
No matter what your driving record looks like, it is a primary factor in determining how much you pay for minimum coverage each month.
Utah SR22 insurance allows drivers to apply for reinstatement before their suspension or revocation ends.
How long will I need an SR-22 for in Utah?
Utah has strict driving laws. You could be required to carry SR-22 insurance for as little as three years, but some repeat offenders are sentenced to keep SR-22 certification for life.
What happens if I let my SR-22 lapse?
A lapse in SR-22 certification can result in your license being suspended. To reinstate your license after a lapse, you’ll need to renew your policy and pay any reinstatement and court fees.Your insurance provider is required to notify the state if your policy is canceled for any reason. Missing payments consistently and failing to renew can both cause a lapse.
Are There Different Types of Utah SR-22 Forms?
There are three main types of Utah SR-22 car insurance forms: Operator’s Certificate, Owner’s Certificate and the Owners-Operators Certificate. The Operator’s Certificate SR-22 form covers drivers who do not own a vehicle. The Owner’s Certificate SR-22 form in Utah proves the financial responsibility for vehicles that the driver actually owns, and the Operators-Owners Certificate covers all the vehicles that the driver drives, whether or not they own the vehicle.
The property damage will provide coverage for the driver and
whomever is driving the vehicle in the case of an accident.
If you or a family member are driving and involved in a accident the insurance company will pay for damages occurred from the accident up to $25,000. If there is damages above and beyond that you will be responsible for the remaining money owed.
Regardless of your driving history, we’re here to help. Ready to get started? Sit back, relax,
and discover an easier way to get the coverage you need.
Non-owner SR-22 in Utah
If you don’t own a vehicle but still require car insurance to satisfy an SR-22 request, you may need to purchase a ‘non-owner’ auto insurance policy before pursuing an SR-22. Luckily, a non-owner insurance policy is often cheaper than a standard policy because you’re not insuring any particular car.
There are two situations where this may be necessary:
- You often drive rentals but don’t own a car
- Your state is requiring you to purchase car insurance (because of a possible past DWI or other offense) to keep your license, but you don’t presently own a car.
Get Insured Today
SR-22 Insurance is working every day to help drivers in Utah obtain the coverage they need to legally drive. We work with many customers seeking high-risk SR-22 insurance at the lowest possible rates. If you suspect that your current or previous auto insurance company has been overcharging you, allow us to show you a quote that you’ll love.
Visit our website to get your FREE auto insurance quote, or give us a call to discuss setting up a new policy over the phone. https://sr22insurance.net/sr22-insurance-quotes/